A Genocidal Germ in Fundamentalism

There’s a genocidal germ in fundamentalism [saying] that “I alone have the truth,” and if I am in a room with 50 people and I alone have the truth, if they were all dead, I alone would have the truth in that room.  So, if we kill all the people who disagree with us, we alone will have the truth. So, there is a sort of a temptation, a seduction within fundamentalism. Now, I am not saying, by the way, who is a fundamentalist.  I am defining it [as] whoever thinks like this is a fundamentalist. Even if you say, “I would never do that.  I would, I would, never kill someone.”  No. But by talking about them as evil, as anti-Christian, as anti-God, you are preparing the ground for somebody, if that somebody ever gets power, to do something about it.  For example, in the 20s when Hitler wrote “Mein Kampf,” he talked always about Jews and Judaism as an infection, as germs, as viruses. It was always the language of pathology. Now, he wasn’t saying, “Go out and kill them.”  But wait a minute.  What do we do with germs?  What do we do with viruses?  We try to get rid of them.  So, somebody who is getting used to that language will eventually draw the conclusion, if they get power, “Well, shouldn’t we get rid of them?”

                                            —John Dominic Crosson

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.