I Have a Dream…

For the past few years I have said it, and I say it still to this very day.  The speech in the links below was neither written by a human being nor delivered by a human being.  As Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. came to that podium at the base of The Lincoln Memorial on that hot August day in 1963, after years of being thrown in jail and denounced by state governors, he stood in the courtroom of American public opinion and world public opinion in support of an issue dear to the heart of God.  The holy scriptures had anticipated moments like this one nearly 2,000 years ago:

But beware of men, for they will hand you over to the courts and scourge you in their synagogues; and you will even be brought before governors and kings for My sake, as a testimony to them and to the Gentiles. But when they hand you over, do not worry about how or what you are to say; for it will be given you in that hour what you are to say. For it is not you who speak, but it is the Spirit of your Father who speaks in you. (Matthew 10:17-20)

The Holy Spirit wrote that speech and delivered every word of it with all the proper and well-timed inflections and intonations.  As its words tug at my heart and bring tears to my eyes, I remain convinced of this.  You may read the words of the famous speech here:

Text of the “I Have a Dream” Speech

You may listen to the oral delivery of the speech here:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.